Prof. Catherine S. Diones, Director for Curriculum and Instruction

Faculty members and students during the orientation program.

CvSU Naic held its Welcome and Orientation Program for college freshmen, transferees, and high school students last June 22, 2015 at Multi-Purpose Hall. The aforementioned event was sponsored by the Office of Student Affairs to make both parents and students aware of the academic aspects of the course as well as the rules and regulations of the University.

The program commenced with doxology  by Anakalayag. The group also led  by the singing of Philippine National Anthem, CvSU Hymn, and CvSU march.  Closely followed was the hearth-warming opening remarks of Mrs. Catherine S. Diones, Director for Curriculum and Instruction.  Dr. Gilchor P. Cubillo, the new dean welcomed the newest batch of students.  He likewise reminded them to be diligent in their studies.

Prof. Diosalyn T. Galang, the campus secretary, briefly discussed the history of the CvSU Naic, from Cavite School of Fisheries  up to its integration to Cavite State University System.  On the other hand, Mr. Mat M. Nuestro, campus registrar, gave necessary information about academic policies and guidelines the students must understand and abide. Matters regarding library  services and health services were explained by the campus librarian, Ms. Rien Rose V. Salvador and by the campus nurse, Ms. Jehn Kamille H. Robles respectively.

Dr. Leah C. Navarro, Director for Student Affairs, discussed the scholarship and financial assistance service of the university to its qualified and derserving students while Mrs. Mariciris G. Petelo, Head of Student Welfare Services Unit, talked on different services available on the campus that aims to meet their needs. Former guidance counselor, Mrs. Maredith B. Catubo’s speech was about student discipline.  Mr. Arnold B. De los Reyes, being the new NSTP Coordinator, touched important matters regrading National Service Training Program.

Chairs from ASD, Engr. Ervin F. Papa; FMSD, Mrs. Leah C. Lacson; ITD, Mrs. Rossian V. Perea; TED, Dr. Ernesto A. Gutierrez; and MD, Mrs. Elsa R. Nueva  introduced their faculty members.

Mrs. Ferry M. Pabalate, Director for Administration and Support Services, formally closed the program by thanking everyone especially the parents and the students who shared their precious time in making the event a successful one. (C.T. Nepomuceno)